jump to navigation

Babywearing success December 25, 2008

Posted by Judy in Musings.
Tags:
trackback

Last week I had my first major babywearing adventure . .  I wore two babies at the same time, my 2 month old on the front and my 18 month old on the back.  Thursday I was going to be going downtown on the metro with the babes on my own, so I needed to practice wearing them.  Sooo, I went out running errands (which, BTW, takes like 10 times as long with two babies in the winter!) every day last week and used it as an excuse to practice.  Monday was merrily really warm (like 65 degrees), so it was a great day to practice.  I went to Lowe’s and parked kinda far to have lots of room around the truck.  I started out with DD, I got the wrap all set up, got her settled in a FWCC, then went around and got the mei tai ready for DS.  Got him on my back using the superman fly, which he loves, and got him tied up.  I was actually surprised that it wasn’t too bad carrying them both, pretty comfy, actually.  I was highly amused at the looks that I got.  People looked at me like I had some defect!  If I thought I got funny looks wearing DS, wearing them both got me some REALLY strange looks!  Anyway, we made it through Lowe’s without any major problems.  (I did forget abou the extra weight . . squatted down, and had quite the time getting back up while packing and extra 35 pounds!! LOL!)

Tuesday and Wednesday I also went out shopping and practiced wearing them.  By the time Thursday rolled around, I was ready for my Metro adventure.  Of course, as luck would have it, DS didn’t really cooperate in the napping department, and I was still having drama with the diaper bag.  So I called DH and asked him to meet me at the metro, since I thought I might lose my mind dealing with both babes on my own.  But, I still ended up having to wear them both to get onto the platform.  Since it was cold, I had to put my cape around all three of us, and I had he diaper bag under my cape too.  I’m sure I looked enormous!!  Plus I was huffing and puffing since not only was I carrying my 25 pound toddler and my 11 pound infant, I also had the 10 pound diaper bag.  I am soooo not in good enough shape to be carting around an extra 45 pounds!  My poor legs!

Anyway, you should have seen the looks I was getting from the people coming off of the metro (all of the commuters going home.)  It was pretty entertaining!

So I still need to perfect my technique . . I’m thinking about making a mei tai that is better suited for an infant so I can wear DD on the front.  And I want to learn to wrap DS on the back in a Ruck or maybe a Jordan Back Carry.  I’ll keep you posted on my success, or lack thereof!

Comments»

1. Back on the bandwagon « A Diva Moment - December 25, 2008

[…] hiatus thanks to the birth of DD, I’m back on the diaper bag sewing bandwagon.  I was set to go downtown with the two babes last week, so I found it necessary to finish revising and make the Chateau […]


Leave a Reply

