jump to navigation

Nursing, the natural sleeping pill July 20, 2010

Posted by Judy in parenting.
Tags: ,
trackback

I’m amazed at how different each nursing experience has been.  Now that I’m going in for round three, I’m totally surprised to find out what a sleep inducer it can be.  I’ve always known that the milk knocks babies out, but had never experienced that for myself.  That is, until now.  I’m only on Day 2 of nursing baby #3, but I get violently sleepy, EVERY. TIME I nurse!  I’ll be doing fine, then I’ll start nursing, then the after birth pains will kick in (which totally suck, BTW!), then it’s all I can do to keep my eyes open!  And then, like 5 minutes after nursing, I’m fine, not sleepy at all!  It’s a VERY weird sensation!  It remains to be seen whether or not this will continue past the exhausting first few weeks.  We’ll see!

Comments»

1. Heidi Ramirez - July 21, 2010

Wow, that’s strange b/c it never happened to me in all 3 times of nursing. And, BTW, I hate the birth pains of nursing right after the baby is born. UGH! You know what someone told me once is when they nursed both their babies, she would get really, really thirsty. I guess I didn’t have any symptoms when I nursed.

Judy - July 21, 2010

I did get RIDICULOUSLY thirsty when nursing the first time, not so much the second time, and a little bit this time. I wonder if it has to do with the season . . . so thirstier in the summer than in the fall?


Leave a comment