jump to navigation

This week on Pinterest – Jan 18-25, 2012 January 26, 2012

Posted by Judy in Food.
trackback

All of my pins that I tried this week were food. I think it was a good week for trying new foods.

Let’s start with the desserts, because, let’s be honest, those are the most fun!

Cinnamon sugar pullaparts

Source: joythebaker.com via Judy on Pinterest

These are kind of like cinnamon rolls, but in a loaf form.  The flavor was pretty good.  I think I would tweak the filling a bit, but it was good.  I did have issues getting all of the sliced pieces into the pan in a non-messy fashion.  I’d get one set into the pan, and then they would start sliding down.  Kinda like books that are leaning in a bookshelf.  If there is no support, they slide down.  This bothered me.  It didn’t affect the flavor, but it didn’t look nice.  I’ll be making this bread again.  Maybe next time with some cinnamon chips or chocolate chips.

Cream cheese pudding cookies

Source: themotherhuddle.com via Judy on Pinterest

 
I messed up when I made these. Rather than mixing the pudding in with the eggs and sugar, I mixed it in with the dry ingredients. I’m not sure whether or not that made a difference. So, of course, I’m going to have to try these again! Even with the mistake, they were quite yummy. I modified the recipe a bit, using half shortening and half butter. You should definitely give this recipe a go!

Sweet potato burritos

Source: allrecipes.com via Judy on Pinterest

On a scale of 1 – 10, I’d give this a 5. The flavor was okay, but I wanted a little more punch, or something. It was ALOT of sweet potato. I think if I make this again, I’ll add more beans and less sweet potato, it just seemed like the balance of ingredients was a bit off. Not a total loss, but not a resounding win, either.

Cauliflower pizza

Source: eat-drink-smile.com via Judy on Pinterest

 
I’ve used cauliflower before to make fake mashed potatoes, and it was surprisingly good, so I thought I’d give this a go. I combined this recipe and another one I had for pizza. Basically it was a white sauce (mayo, olive oil, white cheeses), with artichokes, mushrooms and black pepper as the toppings. As with the fake mashed potatoes, I was pleasantly surprised at the flavor. It’s not something I’d do often, but for a change, this was good.

What did you pin and try this week?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment