jump to navigation

Night night, knockers! March 20, 2015

Posted by Judy in Musings.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

A year ago today, I was sleepily and anxiously dragging myself to the hospital for a big, ol’ surgery.  Although that wasn’t technically the beginning of my journey, it was what got the ball rolling.  And although today is the one year anniversary of the start of the roll, that’s not what this post is about.  One year and two days ago, these 35 women came together to celebrate and to say farewell with me.

IMG_5657

Two weeks in advance, I posted this invite on Facebook.

The girls have had a good and productive life. Lately, they have gotten too feisty for their own good, so it’s time for them to move on to the big, bad pathology lab.

Join me as I say “Night night, knockers!” We’ll play a few silly games, eat some boob-themed food and have a girls night out.

Attire: Dressy (I don’t know about you, but I rarely get a chance to get dressed up, so I’m wearin’ something fancy!)

Please bring a themed-snack to share. (A small caveat: this a boob party, not a boob and sex party, let’s keep it clean-ish 😀 )

Also, if you see that I’ve inadvertently missed someone, please share the invite with them.

RSVP by Sunday, March 16
(For my out-of-town peeps, we can celebrate from afar.)

Whenever I send out invitations for anything, I’m always a nervous Nelly, worried that no-one is going to RSVP.  This time was no different, but I was happily inundated with messages from people who could attend, and well-wishes from those who couldn’t.  One of my out-of-town friends who couldn’t attend the party created an event, “Wear a Fancy Dress for Judy Day”, with the idea being that friends would dress up on the day and post pictures to the event page.  It was lovely and beautiful and made me feel so wonderful to see so many great photos of people from all over dressing up.  There were pictures of friends and their little ones dressed up.  There were pictures of teachers with their entire classrooms dressed up.  There were pictures of husbands and wives, both wearing dresses.  There were pictures of people I didn’t even know, who had seen the even on other people’s walls.  It was a thing of beauty.  I spent the entire day with a silly grin on my face.  And then in the evening, I got to hang out with friends, eat ridiculous food, and play even more ridiculous games.

night night knockers

The boob-themed food was a hoot!
night night knockers

The best game was “Pin the Foob”  I’m sure you can guess how the game worked.  Everyone created and decorated a foob (fake boob) for me.  They were then blindfolded and had to pin it on a life-sized version of me.  Suffice it to say, we laughed, and laughed, and then laughed some more.

pin the foob

All in all, the 18th of March was a truly fantastic day.  It was the perfect way to prepare for the life-changing surgery I was about to endure.  To all of the beautiful friends who supported me, came to the party, wore fancy dresses, and wore pearls the day of the surgery:  thank you, thank you, thank you!  I love you!  Mwa!

Comments»

1. rlape85 - March 21, 2015

Wow! I remember that day, it was wonderful and also made me so happy to see that you had lots of support from your friends. Of course what is not to love about you, you are a terrific, friend, mother, daughter, sister. We all love you and I could not be more proud of you, Besos


Leave a Reply

